Update: final call for submissions – 12th ICMS conference

Call for Submissions

The 12th International Conference in Critical Management Studies

Diversalising and Intern(ation)alising CMS: Places, Spaces, Bodies and Praxistical Theories

BML Munjal University, India

16-18th December, 2021

A Virtual Conference

BML Munjal University is excited to host the 12th International Critical Management Studies Conference on “Diversalising and Intern(ation)alising CMS: Places, Spaces, Bodies and Praxistical Theories” from 16-18 December 2021. 

Inspite of the unprecedented times in which this conference is being held – Covid pandemic, neoliberal onslaught on academia and critical scholars, we are happy to share with you that we have received a good number of proposals from highly engaged members of our community of critical scholars and practitioners. After going through a peer review process, we are happy to bring to you an exciting set of great sub-theme proposals that speak to the diverse nature of our community for the upcoming conference.

The list of sub-themes for the 12th ICMS conference are given below. Please contact the sub-theme organisers directly for queries about submissions.

Sub-theme 1: Digitalization, Ethics, And Subjectivity In Organizations

Convenors:

Edouard Pignot, London School of Economics.  (e.pignot@lse.ac.uk) 

Lucia-Garcia Lorenzo, London School of Economics (l.garcia@lse.ac.uk)

Mark Thompson, Exeter University (mark.thompson@methods.co.uk)

Sub-theme 2: Opening Spaces For Pluriversal Futures: People Organized To Struggle Against Oppression
Convenors: 
Guilherme Dornelas Camara, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil, guilherme.dornelas@ufrgs.br
Maria Ceci Misoczky, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil, maria.ceci@ufrgs.br 
Carlos Juan Núñez Rodríguez
Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana de México – Azcapotzalco (México) - carlosjnu@gmail.com
José Francisco Puello-Socarrás
Escuela Superior de Administración Pública (Colombia) - josepuel@esap.edu.co

Sub-theme 3: Decolonial Methodologies: On The Praxistical (Im)Possibilities Of Diversalising Ontologies Of Dissent, Fracture, And Resistance

Convenors:

Sadhvi Dar, Queen Mary University, UK s.dar@qmul.ac.uk

Jenny K. Rodriguez, Alliance Manchester Business School. jenny.rodriguez@manchester.ac.uk

Alexandre Faria, FGV-EBAPE Brasil. alex.faria.br@gmail.com

Joshua Kalemba, University of Newcastle, Australia. Joshua.Kalemba@uon.edu.au

Deborah Brewis, University of Bath, UK. db805@bath.ac.uk

Marcela Mandiola, School of Economy and Business of Alberto Hurtado University in Santiago, Chile. marcelamc68@gmail.com

Ayesha Masood, Suleman Dawood School of Business, Lahore University Management School, Pakistan. ayesha.masood@lums.edu.pk

Sub-theme 4: Flexible Lives: Spatial, Temporal, And Behavioural Boundaries In A Fluid World Of Work And Home

Convenors:

Michal Izak, University of Roehampton, UK,  Michal.Izak@roehampton.ac.uk

Stefanie Reissner, Newcastle University, UK,  stefanie.reissner@newcastle.ac.uk

Harriet Shortt, University of the West of England, UK, Harriet.Shortt@uwe.ac.uk

(A Special Issue of Culture and Organization is closely associated with the proposed stream (although it will be open to non-participants)

Sub-theme 5: Decolonization Movement And Inequalities In Management Research And Education

Convenors:

Hari Bapuji, University of Melbourne, Australia hari.bapuji@unimelb.edu.au

Vivek Soundararajan, University of Bath. UK, vs602@bath.ac.uk

Devi Vijay, Indian Institute of Management Calcutta, India, devivijay@iimcal.ac.in

Ajnesh Prasad,  ajnesh_prasad@yahoo.ca

Sub-theme 6: Recapturing, Restructuring, Reframing or Reformulating? The Future of Feminist Gender and Diversity Scholarship to address and tackle Inequalities in Management and Organisations

Convenors :

Jenny K Rodriguez, University of Manchester, UK – jenny.rodriguez@manchester.ac.uk

Elisabeth Anna Guenther, University of Vienna – elisabeth.guenther@univie.ac.at

Diana Rajendran, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia, – drajendran@swin.edu.au, 

Rafia Faiz, Independent Researcher – rafia.faiz@gmail.com 

Sub-theme 7 : Critical Perspectives on Academic Practice: Emancipatory Voices from around the World

Convenors :

Kasia Zdunczyk, University of Bristol, UK,  kasia.zdunczyk@gmail.com

Marco Mongiello, University of Law, UK, Marco.Mongiello@law.ac.uk

Sub-theme 8: Critical perspectives on Gender Equity in the Upper Echelons in management

Convenors:

Payal Kumar, BML Munjal University, India (payalk1@gmail.com)

Sneh Bhardwaj, Federation University, Australia (s.bhardwaj@federation.edu.au)

Sub-theme 9 :  Listening to Different Voices – Plurality and Power in Health and Social Care

Convenors:

Will Thomas, University of Suffolk, UK (w.thomas@uos.ac.uk)

Sanna Laulainen, University of Eastern Finland, Finland (sanna.laulainen@uef.fi)

Anneli Hujala, University of Eastern Finland, Finland (anneli.hujala@uef.fin)

Sub-theme 10: The Business of (Im)Migration: Bodies Across the Borders

Convenors:

Vijayta Doshi, Indian Institute of Management Udaipur, India, vijayta.doshi@iimu.ac.in

Marco Distinto, marco.distinto@gmail.com

Paulina Segarra, Universidad Anáhuac, México. paulina.segarra@anahuac.mx

Arturo E. Osorio, Rutgers Business School Newark and New Brunswick. osorio@business.rutgers.edu

Martyna Śliwa, University of Essex, UK.  martyna.sliwa@essex.ac.uk

Sub-theme 11: Critical Accounting Studies

Convenors:

Jill Atkins, University of Sheffield, UK, j.f.atkins@sheffield.ac.uk

Jim Haslam University of Sheffield, UK, j.haslam@sheffield.ac.uk

Prem Sikka – University of Sheffield, UK p.n.sikka@sheffield.ac.uk, prems@essex.ac.uk

Fernanda Sauerbronn Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil fernanda.sauerbronn@facc.ufrj.br

Yara Cintra – Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, yaracintra@facc.ufrj.br

Silvia Pereira de Castro Casa Nova – University of São Paulo, Brazil, silvianova@usp.br

Mary Vera Colina,  Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Bogotá, maaveraco@unal.edu.co

Ruth Alejandra Patiño – Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Bogotá, rapatinoj@unal.edu.co

Please submit your abstracts for sub-theme 11 to: cas.icms.2021@gmail.com

Sub theme 12: Feminist And Gender Perspectives On Asian Workplaces In Times Of (Pandemic) Disruption: Challenges And Means Of Pursuing Business Responsibly

Convenors:

Ganesh Singh, AIMA-CME, India, gsingh@aima.in

Nayan Mitra, Founder-Director, Sustainable Advancements (OPC) Private Limited. mitra.nayan@gmail.com

Sub-theme 13: Engaging with Decolonial Thinking: Pedagogic and Classroom Perspectives

Convenors:

Nimruji Jammulamadaka– Indian Institute of Management Calcutta, India, nimruji@iimcal.ac.in

Sankalp Pratap  – Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur, India, pratap.sankalp@gmail.com,

Biswatosh Saha  – Indian Institute of Management Calcutta, India, biswatosh@iimcal.ac.in

Shaun Ruggunan –  University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa, ruggunans@ukzn.ac.za

Stella Nkomo –       University of Pretoria, South Africa, stella.nkomo@up.ac.za

Nckeu Nyathi – Royal Hollway University of London, United Kingdom, Nceku.Nyathi@rhul.ac.uk

Sub-theme 14: Creating Alternate and Plural Futures Locally, Nationally, and Internationally

Convenors:

Wayne Eastman, Rutgers Business School-Newark and New Brunswick, weastman@business.rutgers.edu

Irene Akaab, Accra Technical University, Ghana, iakaab@atu.edu.gh

Jayoung Myung, Rutgers Business School, jm1901@rutgers.edu

Sub-theme 15: Re-Narrating Marketing And Consumer Culture Studies And Reviving Resistive, Decolonial Voices

Convenors:

Arindam Das,Alliance School of Business, Alliance University, India, ad_arindam@yahoo.co.in

Himadri Roy Chaudhuri,XLRI-Jamshedpur, India, himadrirc@gmail.com

ONLINE WORKSHOP PROPOSAL ONE:

Being Practically Critical – Re-Imagining Possibilities For The CMS Conference

Orgnaisers:

Daniel King, Nottingham Business School, UK (daniel.king@ntu.ac.uk)

Simon Parker, Nottingham University Business School, UK (lizsp1@exmail.nottingham.ac.uk )

In this workshop we want to raise the question of what a CMS conference would look like that took the critical performative turn seriously.

ONLINE WORKSHOP PROPOSAL TWO:

Engaging with Decolonial Thinking in the Class Room

Organisers:

Nimruji Jammulamadaka– Indian Institute of Management Calcutta, India nimruji@iimcal.ac.in

Sankalp Pratap  – Indian Institute of Technology Jodhpur, India <pratap.sankalp@gmail.com>,

Shaun Ruggunan University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa<ruggunans@ukzn.ac.za

Biswatosh Saha  Indian Institute of Management Calcutta, India, biswatosh@iimcal.ac.in

This workshop seeks to explore pedagogic concerns and practices around decolonial praxis.

How to Submit

The submissions have to be made directly to the sub-theme convenors. The sub-theme organisers may be contacted directly on their email ids with any queries. Please add a subject line “ICMS conference”

Submissions will be in the form of extended abstracts of 1000 words.  Submissions should clearly indicate the sub-theme to which they are submitting. Submissions should also briefly state in 100 words how their submission is suitable for the sub-theme. Please note that this is a virtual conference.

Last date for Submission: 6th of November 2021

Registration

Due to an overwhelming preference for the online virtual mode of the conference, the ICMS conference of 2021 is being converted to a purely online conference. This has been felt safer also from a public health point of view in view of the continuous second and further waves of the covid 19 and continuing travel restrictions.

The registration fees for the virtual conference is INR 6,500.00 or GBP 70 per participant.

If you have any queries with regards to the registration fees and process please write in to payalk1@gmail.com

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s